Our Adoption Timeline

November 2010- We decided to go on a mission with Lifepoint Church to Haiti (with no intentions to adopt.)

Saturday, February 12, 2011- We landed in Haiti and met Mathieu.

Sunday, February 13, 2011- God told me Mathieu was going to be our son.

Friday, February 18, 2011- We left Haiti, and I finally told Peyton about what God said.  We discussed and prayed about it.

Monday, February 21, 2011- We officially made our decision to adopt and started the process!

Thursday, February 24, 2011- We had our first meeting with our social worker and started gathering all the paperwork needed prior to the homestudy.

Friday, March 4, 2011- Doctor’s appointment for all the bloodwork necessary for adoption.

Friday, March 18, 2011- First papers filed in Haitian courts for adoption.  This happened before Martelly took office.

Friday, March 25, 2011- Homestudy Completed.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011- I-600A Completed and Mailed.

Thursday, May 12, 2011- Psychological Exam, and we received notice that USCIS received our I600A and gave us a fingerprint appointment.  (We had to mail back for a new appointment because we were going to be in Haiti during the first appointment.)

May 2011- Started gathering papers for dossier which most require notaries.

Saturday, June 4, 2011- Landed in Haiti to see Mathieu again!

Thursday, June 9, 2011- We were supposed to go to court to sign papers requesting to adopt Mathieu, but there was a lot of flooding in Haiti which caused the courts to close.  We were still able to sign the papers.

Friday, June 10, 2011- We left Haiti.  😦

Friday, June 17, 2011- Fingerprints for USCIS.

Sunday, June 19, 2011- Paperwork needs to be reworked due to notary wording.

July 2011- Received I-171H

Monday, July 18, 2011- Had to rework documents again due to notary stamp misspelling.

Monday, July 25, 2011- Dossier County Certified.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011- Dossier State Authenticated.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011- Dossier mailed to translator.

Tuesday, August 9, 2011- Recevied translated dossier back.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011- Mailed dossier to Haitian Consulate in Miami.

Friday, August 26, 2011- Check cleared the bank to the Haitian Consulate.

Friday, September 2, 2011- Papers came from Haitian Consulate and Mathieu got passport photo made.  There was a big mix up on our birth certificates being stamped.

Monday, September 26, 2011- Finally got our birth certificates back from Haitian Consulate.

Thursday, September 29, 2011- Complete Dossier finally in Haiti!

Friday, November 18, 2011- Landed in Haiti to see Mathieu.

Monday, November 21, 2011- Left Haiti.

Thursday, March 15, 2012- Mathieu’s dad’s interview in court.

Monday, April 9, 2012- Emailed Embassy for I-600 appointment.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012- Confirmation from Embassy for appointment!

Saturday, May 19, 2012- Landed in Haiti.

Monday, May 21, 2012- Embassy Appointment.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012- Left Haiti.

Monday, July 2, 2012- Bio Parent/Child Embassy Appointment- Parent Missed This One

Thursday, July 26, 2012- Mailed Off for Fingerprint Update Appointment

Friday, August 10, 2012- Received New Fingerprint Appointment

Wednesday, August 29, 2012- Bio Parent/Child Interview at Embassy and Fingerprint Appointment for us

Advertisements

One response to “Our Adoption Timeline

  1. Hi There
    I just read your blog and see you had the birthparent/child interview for I-600 the same day we did! Have you had any news? My e-mail is below.
    Thanks.
    Dorie Lawson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s